Glorious Moments v My Monster Mind

I am tired. Are you tired? Is the person next to you tired? Go on, admit it. I think we are all a little tired, worn out, baggy around the edges and uninspired at times. I am certainly experiencing one of those times and I feel like sleeping for the next year. I don’t have anything ‘real’ to worry about, my world is full of good and I simply cannot complain of this fantastic adventure called Life. I am however finding myself staring into the middle distance and looking vacant. My emotions are giving me more highs and lows than a mountain range and I am reaching for the sugar and caffeine. My dreams are on a loop of the activities I crave and my body aches.

 

How on earth did I get to this? How did I transition from peaceful and free to crazy lady with wild hair and no sense of perspective?

 

I spent too much time thinking and worrying. End of.

 

My mind the monster has grabbed the reigns, kicked my peaceful and sane heart aside and decided to take charge. Like a toddler jam-packed with E numbers and let loose in a china shop, my mind has wreaked havoc in my internal world. If I relived the past month without worrying about it all along the way I wouldn’t be tired. The activity, the challenges, the changes have not worn me out. They’ve been great fun. It is my pesky mind refusing to stop churning over the unknowns that is the problem. My mind and I have not allowed a moment of stillness, a moment of mental rest before regrouping to pick up the broken china.

 

I am the creator of my own misery

 

I am out of balance and I have nobody to blame other than myself for this state of affairs. It is all thanks to me and that is terrifying. Or is it?

 

With a little awareness and reigning in I can turn this around….

 

Imagine how much easier life would be if we let go of the worries, let go of those mind patterns and just relaxed.

 

Let it go

 

Went with the highs and lows, smiled despite the frightening parts and laughed loudly and heartily at every single step of the journey. Let it go every single day with sunshine in our smiles, even when the mental clouds attempt to skitter across our minds.

 

Let it go. Be content. Breathe

 

It sounds blissful and it is entirely achievable with awareness and practice. But not when we are tired and need a rest. Rest comes first. Pick yourself up gently with love in your heart, dust yourself off and tuck yourself into a mental fluffy blanket. Take a moment to just be. Everything else can wait.

 

“I must be overtired’, Buttercup managed. ‘The excitement and all.’
‘Rest then’, her mother cautioned. ‘Terrible things can happen when you’re overtired. I was overtired the night your father proposed.”
William Goldman, The Princess Bride

 

Terrible things do happen when we are overtired, when our minds are out of control and affect the world around us with their negativity. I pity my family and friends that bear the brunt of my moments of insanity and I am forever thankful that they love me in spite of myself. I pity my poor body as I push her too far and I am thankful she never stops being there for me despite my lack of tolerance. I very narrowly missed being hit by a car when I was overtired and running this week. I was so mentally fogged up I forgot to look for traffic. Thankfully the driver swerved and I leapt towards the pavement as the air rushed past me.

 

It is time to rest

 

Rest doesn’t have to mean sitting down and doing nothing, though that is appealing and necessary at times. We can find rest in activity and activity in rest. Pursue those hobbies and moments that quieten the mind. As I write this I can feel my balance and happiness deep inside of me. She is always there waiting for my mind to simmer down. Through creativity and expression with words I come back to me. Cook a delicious meal, paint a picture, sing from the depths of my soul and do something kind and gentle for someone else. They are all restful.

 

What would you do if you took time to rest today?

Ask yourself what you really need

 

“Activity and rest are two vital aspects of life. To find a balance in them is a skill in itself. Wisdom is knowing when to have rest, when to have activity, and how much of each to have. Finding them in each other – activity in rest and rest in activity – is the ultimate freedom.”
Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Celebrating Silence: Excerpts from Five Years of Weekly Knowledge 1995-2000

 

 Cherish the Glorious Moments

 

Are you still struggling to find a way to unwind so that you can mentally rest? Give thanks for the glorious moments. Take a deep breath, step back and make a list of the happy moments you have experienced recently. The moments that have lifted your heart, made you smile and feel thankful for life. Write them down and remember how wonderful they were no matter how strange or insignificant they may seem to others. With that in mind here are some of the moments that have brought me joy in recent weeks.

 

Image
Furry microphone. My ‘pet’ for two weeks when Discovery joined us to film Shark Week 2014. Soft, tactile and made me smile

 

Beautiful sunrises at sea. Each one unique, a new beginning
Phosphoresence in the wake of our boat on dark mornings. Stunning sea fireworks
The realisation that in 56 sleeps I get to say hello to this ray of sunshine
Receiving photographs of the Bears, well and truly loved by their new family. Forever missed by me but their happiness brings me peace
30,000 words of my first book written. My dream of being published is one step closer
Passing my first PADI Dive Master mock exam. Facing my fears, working hard and making it happen 
Running up a mountain twice and seeing the ocean from the summit. I didn’t know I could run that far!

 

And most importantly my incredible friends and family. They inspire me every day and there are not enough photographs in the world to capture that.

 

Go close your eyes and set yourself free

 

If you are still struggling to slow down and you feel guilty for even thinking about it then I suggest you read this quote. If ever there was an excuse for an afternoon nap, this is it. Rest, wake up tomorrow and just do the best with what you have.

 

“Even a soul submerged in sleep
is hard at work and helps
make something of the world.”
Heraclitus, Fragments

 

 Related Articles

3 thoughts on “Glorious Moments v My Monster Mind”

  1. Therapeutic … you have a way of calming the body, mind, and soul with your words. I have had some difficulty recently with rolling along with the highs and lows that inevitably occupy our daily lives. Just the thought of quieting down and accepting what is in front of me provided a calming influence. Thank you for another beautiful cup of soothing tea 😉

Leave a Reply

